Background_References_matrix-advice

Selected projects & initiatives

Matrix consulting references

Getting young people excited about STEM - zdi.NRW - Future through innovation

Die Initiative

zdi.NRW is an initiative that inspires young people along the education chain for MINT and provides information about the exciting opportunities in engineering and scientific professions and courses. It discovers and promotes scientific talent with a variety of instruments. With over 5.000 partnerships with actors from science, schools, business, politics and social groups, zdi is the largest MINT network of its kind in Europe. In NRW over 70 zdi student labs and nationwide zdi offers in all districts and urban districts. In over 15 years, zdi has reached over 2 million young people in NRW; with a proportion of girls currently over 45%. Future through Innovation.NRW (zdi) is a joint offensive to promote young scientists and engineers in North Rhine-Westphalia. matrix has been working as the zdi regional office on behalf of the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia for over 15 years. In this role, matrix built up the local networks and school labs and continuously accompanies them in their further development.

The funding program

Young people do STEM
©2020-zdi.NRW

The zdi-BSO-MINT program gives students from general schools in NRW a detailed insight into MINT fields of application as part of in-depth career and study orientation from class 7. In this way, the inclination to start a MINT degree or a MINT training should be encouraged. 

As a certified educational institution, matrix manages the state and federal funds as part of the funding program zdi-BSO-MINT, checks measures for their feasibility, settles approved measures with the contractual partners and advises on the conception of content and documentation.

The Academy

For more than 10 years, matrix has been developing training courses, seminars and workshops for the coordinators of the zdi networks and laboratories. Based closely on the interests of the target group, we develop the course idea, carry out the training and workshops and take over the participant management. In addition to professional qualifications, community building is an important goal of the zdi Academy.

The communication

Social media channels for young people
©2021-zdi.NRW

matrix has set up the social media channels of the initiative - Instagram, YouTube, Facebook and Twitter - which now have a total of over 4.000 followers and is constantly looking after them. Varied campaigns such as the zdi gurus or the zdi heroines repeatedly form the framework for lively storytelling.

matrix has the community as a meeting place and additional communication platform for young people interested in STEM www.mint-community.de develops and expands them continuously. You can find out more about campaigns and communities here: matrix agency.

Logo zdi

Doubts about studies and dropping out of studies are no longer taboo - Next career

Die Initiative

Dropout Facts
©NextCareers

A new perspective on the subject of dropping out made it possible to see the opportunities. By successfully breaking the taboo on the subject, new opportunities emerged to talk about it. As a result, professional help and support services for students, family and friends on issues related to doubts about studying, changing studies and dropping out of studies grew.

matrix was responsible for the management of the initiative and worked together in 13 regional projects with a total of 20 universities throughout NRW. Change processes were also initiated within the universities and supported in cross-university working groups. Advisory capacities have been expanded and restructured, the instruments have been made more professional, and the way in which people who have doubts about their studies and those who have dropped out has been further developed. The regional cooperation between the universities and different labor market actors was the subject of numerous workshops.

The communication

Cross-media campaigning, including social media strategy and management, was the method of choice for this initiative. The focus was on involving the target group. Inclusive campaigning, user-generated content and testimonials ensured attention, emotionality and great credibility. You can find more information about the campaign here.

Trainings & workshops

In order for those involved to be able to address the target group themselves in a sustainable and long-term manner, matrix has carried out training courses for teams from universities on the subject of social media. The main focus was on using social media for advice. The employer workshop taught how companies can successfully approach university dropouts as potential employees. You can find the documentation for this here.

Logo next career

Promote social cohesion - community inclusive

Die Initiative

inclusion in the community

Together with non-statutory welfare organisations, municipal administration, clubs, other organizations and many citizens, the “Community Inclusive” initiative by Aktion Mensch aims to develop municipalities further into places where everyone is welcome and can participate. In order for this to succeed, Kommune InInclusive aims to promote social cohesion and dismantle structures that inhibit inclusion.

process support

matrix has been supporting all five model municipalities since 2017. The process support strengthens initiatives and networks and supports the testing of concepts and measures for the long-term design of inclusive social spaces. Essential aspects are the promotion of participatory processes and the raising of awareness and sensitization for inclusion among local actors. You can find out more about process support here.

Trainings & workshops

In the future, Aktion Mensch would like to promote the financing of process support much more strongly. To ensure that this is possible on a professional basis, Aktion Mensch supports the establishment of a pool of process facilitators. Based on our experience as process facilitators in inclusive communities, we have developed a practical train-the-trainer concept and exclusively provide the team of lecturers.

The training concept as part of the annual training series of Aktion Mensch has been established for years. This takes up central elements of the practice manual and is aimed at actors in the field of inclusion in Germany. Here we train the following topics: 1. Cooperative planning, 2. Concrete participation, 3. Impact orientation, 4. Evaluation.

Logo Action Human

Together at eye level - HelpCamps

The project

Maker Scene and Disability
©HelpCamps

HelpCamps brought together scientists, aid manufacturers, makers and people with disabilities to jointly develop new solutions for technical aids. matrix was responsible for setting up the network and organizing the integration of the diverse FabLab and maker scene.

The communication

Various events have made a significant contribution to building the network: BarCamp, conference, hackathon and a social media campaign (strategy, website, videos, management).

Innovate co-creatively - Mfakeopaedics

The project of matrix gGmbH

Prototype orthosis

Motivated by the lack of professional digitally manufactured orthopedic aids that are available as open source hardware MakeOpaedics brought to life. The aim is to co-creatively advance the change in the supply system in a network of actors and to make individual aids accessible to a broad group of the population.

Creative Hubs & Labs

The MakeOpaedics project matrix gGmbH brings makers and medical supply stores together in the development process. This results in digitally manufactured open source prototypes that are freely available for further development. In this sense, we create a co-creative network of innovative actors with different competencies and perspectives.

Develop a prototype - an example

MakeOpaedics has developed a prototype of a sensor-based sole system for patients with a Charcot foot. The aim of the sole system is to avoid incorrect pressure by constantly monitoring the pressure on the foot and thus prevent wounds from forming. In the paper "Development of an open-source digitally fabricated diabetic foot monitoring system" we describe this prototype development.

The matrix gGmbH the project started in November 2020 together with the Rhein-Waal University of Applied Sciences. Is supported MakeOpaedics by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) as part of the “Open Photonik Pro” funding measure within the program "Photonics Research Germany".

Emscher-Lippe4

The project

Logo Emscher-Lippe4

The aim of the Emscher-Lippe hoch 4 project is to make digitization tangible in the learning and demonstration laboratory and usable for innovation, integration, transfer and education.

Real laboratory

The research project Emscher-Lippe hoch 4 relies on the instrument of FabLabs in its efforts to solve the challenges of digitization in the modern working world; because here digitization is not understood as a purely technological change, but as a social process that promotes new forms of innovation, cooperation and togetherness. The stated goal should be to research the processes at various levels in order to derive recommendations for action for the region.
The target group of the project are people with disabilities who are to be supported directly and indirectly. In an integrative overall concept, Emscher-Lippe hoch 4 focuses on four main areas:

  • Impart digital competence
  • Opening up companies for digital innovations
  • Testing of digital fabrication methods
  • Initiating digital innovation processes

matrix worked within the project on the implementation of innovation methodologies that connect SMEs with application-oriented practices and conducted training courses for SMEs on topics such as business model development, digital prototyping and empathy & participatory design.

Logo of the Ministry of Economics of North Rhine-Westphalia

Hintergrund_Referenzen_matrix-beratung

Ausgewählte Projekte & Initiativen

Referenzen der matrix Beratung

Junge Menschen für MINT begeistern zdi.NRW Zukunft durch Innovation

Die Initiative

zdi.NRW ist eine Initiative, die junge Menschen entlang der Bildungskette für MINT begeistert und über die spannenden Möglichkeiten in ingenieur- und naturwissenschaftlichen Berufen und Studiengängen informiert. Sie entdeckt und fördert naturwissenschaftliches Talent mit vielfältigen Instrumenten. Mit über 5.000 Partnerschaften mit Akteur:innen aus Wissenschaft, Schule, Wirtschaft, Politik und gesellschaftlichen Gruppen ist zdi das größte MINT-Netzwerk seiner Art in Europa. In NRW über 70 zdi-Schüler:innenlabore und flächendeckende zdi-Angebote in allen Kreisen und kreisfreien Städten. In über 15 Jahren hat zdi über 2 Millionen junge Menschen in NRW erreicht; mit einem Mädchenanteil von aktuell über 45%. Zukunft durch Innovation.NRW (zdi) ist eine Gemeinschaftsoffensive zur Förderung des naturwissenschaftlichen und technischen Nachwuchses in Nordrhein-Westfalen. matrix arbeitet seit über 15 Jahren als zdi-Landesgeschäftsstelle im Auftrag des Ministeriums für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW. In dieser Rolle hat matrix die lokalen Netzwerke und Schülerlabore aufgebaut und begleitet sie laufend bei der Weiterentwicklung.

Das Förderprogramm

Jugendliche machen MINT
©2020-zdi.NRW

Das zdi-BSO-MINT-Programm ermöglicht Schüler:innen allgemeinbildender Schulen in NRW im Rahmen der vertieften Berufs- und Studienorientierung ab Klasse 7 einen detaillierten Einblick in MINT-Anwendungsfelder. So soll die Neigung, ein MINT-Studium oder eine MINT-Ausbildung zu beginnen, gefördert werden. 

matrix verwaltet als zertifizierter Bildungsträger die Landes- und Bundesmittel im Rahmen des Förderprogramms zdi-BSO-MINT, prüft Maßnahmen auf ihre Durchführbarkeit, rechnet genehmigte Maßnahmen mit den Vertragspartner:innen ab und berät bei der Konzeption von Inhalten sowie bei der Dokumentation.

Die Akademie

Seit über 10 Jahren entwickelt matrix Trainings, Seminare und Workshops für die Koordinator:innen der zdi-Netzwerke und -labore. Eng an den Interessen der Zielgruppe orientiert entwickeln wir die Kursidee, führen die Trainings und Workshops durch und übernehmen das Teilnehmenden-Management. Neben der fachlichen Qualifikation ist das Community-Building ein wichtiges Ziel der zdi-Akademie.

Die Kommunikation

Social Media Kanäle für Jugendliche
©2021-zdi.NRW

matrix hat die Social-Media-Kanäle der Initiative – Instagram, YouTube, Facebook und Twitter – mit inzwischen über 4.000 Followern insgesamt aufgebaut und betreut sie laufend. Abwechslungsreiche Kampagnen wie beispielsweise die zdi-Gurus oder die zdi-Heldinnen bilden immer wieder den Rahmen für lebendiges Storytelling.

Als Treffpunkt und weitere Kommunikationsplattform für an MINT interessierte Jugendliche hat matrix die Community www.mint-community.de entwickelt und baut sie kontinuierlich aus. Mehr über Kampagnen und Communitys finden Sie hier: matrix Agentur.

Logo zdi

Studienzweifel und Studienabbruch enttabuisieren Next Career

Die Initiative

Studienabbruch Fakten
©Next Career

Eine neue Perspektive auf das Thema Studienabbruch machte es möglich die Chancen zu sehen. Indem es gelang, das Thema zu enttabuisieren, entstanden neue Möglichkeiten, darüber zu sprechen. So wuchsen professionelle Hilfs- und Unterstützungsangebote rund um die Themen Studienzweifel, Studienwechsel und Studienabbruch für Studierende sowie Familie und Freunde.

matrix hat das Management der Initiative verantwortet und dabei in 13 regionalen Projekten mit insgesamt 20 Hochschulen in ganz NRW zusammengearbeitet. Dabei wurden auch innerhalb der Hochschulen Changeprozesse angestoßen und in hochschulübergreifenden Arbeitsgruppen begleitet. Beratungskapazitäten wurden aus- und umgebaut, die Instrumente professionalisiert sowie der Umgang und die Ansprache von Studienzweifler:innen und Studienabbrecher:innen weiterentwickelt. Die regionale Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Hochschulen und unterschiedlichen Arbeitsmarktakteur:innen war Gegenstand zahlreicher Workshops.

Die Kommunikation

Für diese Initiative war crossmediales Campaigning inklusive Social-Media-Strategie und -Management das Mittel der Wahl. Der Fokus lag auf der Einbindung der Zielgruppe. Inklusives Campaigning, User Generated Content und Testimonials sorgten für Aufmerksamkeit, Emotionalität und große Glaubwürdigkeit. Mehr Information über die Kampagne finden Sie hier.

Trainings & Workshops

Damit die Beteiligten selbst nachhaltig und langfristig die Zielgruppe ansprechen können, hat matrix Trainings für Teams aus Hochschulen zum Thema Social Media durchgeführt. Dabei ging es vor allem darum, Social Media für Beratung einzusetzen. Im Arbeitgeber:innen-Workshop wurde vermittelt, wie Unternehmen erfolgreich Studienabbrecher:innen als potenzielle Arbeitnehmer:innen ansprechen können. Die Dokumentation dazu finden Sie hier.

Logo next career

Gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt fördern – Kommune Inklusiv

Die Initiative

Inklusion in der Kommune

Gemeinsam mit Träger:innen der freien Wohlfahrtspflege, kommunaler Verwaltung, Vereinen, anderen Organisationen und vielen Bürger:innen will die Initiative „Kommune Inklusiv“ von Aktion Mensch Kommunen weiterentwickeln hin zu Orten, an welchen jeder Mensch willkommen ist und teilhaben kann. Damit das gelingt, zielt Kommune Inklusiv darauf ab, den gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt zu fördern und inklusionshemmende Strukturen abzubauen.

Prozessbegleitung

Seit 2019 begleitet matrix alle fünf Modell-Kommunen. Die Prozessbegleitung stärkt Initiativen und Netzwerke und unterstützt bei der Erprobung von Konzepten und Maßnahmen zur langfristigen Gestaltung von inklusiven Sozialräumen. Wesentliche Aspekte sind die Förderung partizipativer Prozesse und die Bewusstseinsbildung sowie Sensibilisierung für Inklusion bei lokalen Akteur:innen. Mehr zum Thema Prozessbegleitung finden Sie hier.

Trainings & Workshops

Aktion Mensch möchte künftig deutlich stärker die Finanzierung von Prozessbegleitung fördern. Damit das fachlich fundiert möglich ist, unterstützt Aktion Mensch den Aufbau eines Pools von Prozessbegleiter:innen. Aus unserer Erfahrung als Prozessbegleiter:innen in Kommune Inklusiv haben wir ein praxisnahes Train-the-Trainer-Konzept entwickelt und stellen exklusiv das Dozent:innen-Team.

Bereits etabliert ist seit Jahren das Schulungskonzept im Rahmen der jährlichen Schulungsreihe der Aktion Mensch. Diese greift zentrale Elemente des Praxishandbuchs auf und richtet sich an Akteur:innen im Feld Inklusion in Deutschland. Hier schulen wir die folgenden Themen: 1. Kooperative Planung, 2. Partizipation konkret, 3. Wirkungsorientierung, 4. Evaluation.

Logo Aktion Mensch

Gemeinsam auf Augenhöhe – HelpCamps

Das Projekt

Makerszene und Behinderung
©HelpCamps

HelpCamps hat Wissenschaftler:innen, Hilfsmittelhersteller:innen, Maker:innen und Menschen mit Behinderungen zusammengebracht, um gemeinsam neue Lösungen für technische Hilfsmittel zu entwickeln. matrix hat den Netzwerkaufbau verantwortet sowie die Einbindung der vielfältigen FabLab- und Maker:innen-Szene organisiert.

Die Kommunikation

Verschiedene Veranstaltungen haben maßgeblich zum Netzwerkaufbau beigetragen: BarCamp, Konferenz, Hackathon sowie eine Social-Media-Kampagne (Strategie, Website, Videos, Management).

Co-kreativ Innovationen schaffen Makeopaedics

Das Projekt der matrix gGmbH

Prototyp Orthese

Motiviert durch den Mangel an professionellen digital gefertigten Hilfsmitteln im Orthopädiebereich, die als Open-Source-Hardware verfügbar sind, wurde MakeOpaedics ins Leben gerufen. Ziel ist es, co-kreativ im Netzwerk von Akteur:innen den Wandel des Versorgungssystems voranzutreiben und individuelle Hilfsmittel einer breiten Bevölkerungsgruppe zugänglich zu machen.

Creative Hubs & Labs

Das Projekt MakeOpaedics der matrix gGmbH bringt Maker:innen und Sanitätshäuser im Entwicklungsprozess zusammen. Dabei entstehen digital gefertigte Open-Source-Prototypen, die für die Weiterentwicklung frei zur Verfügung stehen. In diesem Sinne schaffen wir ein co-kreatives Netzwerk von innovativen Akteur:innen mit verschiedenen Kompetenzen und Perspektiven.

Prototyp entwickeln – ein Beispiel

MakeOpaedics hat einen Prototyp eines sensorbasierten Sohlensystems für Patient:innen mit einem Charcot-Fuß entwickelt. Ziel des Sohlensystems ist es, durch permanentes Monitoring des Drucks am Fuß Fehldruck zu vermeiden und so Wundbildung vorzubeugen. Im Paper „Development of an open-source digital fabricated diabetic foot monitoring system“ beschreiben wir diese Prototypenentwicklung.

Die matrix gGmbH startete das Projekt im November 2020 gemeinsam mit der Hochschule Rhein-Waal. Unterstützt wird MakeOpaedics durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) im Rahmen der Fördermaßnahme „Open Photonik Pro“ innerhalb des Programms „Photonik Forschung Deutschland“.

Emscher-Lippe4

Das Projekt

Logo Emscher-Lippe4

Das Ziel des Projekts Emscher-Lippe hoch 4 ist es Digitalisierung im Lern- und Demonstrationslabor erlebbar zu machen und nutzbar für Innovation, Integration, Transfer und Bildung.

Reallabor

Das Forschungsprojekt Emscher-Lippe hoch 4 setzt bei seinem Bestreben zur Lösung der Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung der modernen Arbeitswelt auf das Instrument von FabLabs; denn hier wird Digitalisierung nicht als ein rein technologischer Wandel, sondern als ein sozialer Prozess verstanden, durch den neue Formen der Innovation, des Zusammenarbeitens und des Miteinanders befördert werden. Ausgemachtes Ziel soll es sein, die Prozesse auf unterschiedlichsten Ebenen zu erforschen, um davon Handlungsempfehlungen für die Region abzuleiten.
Die Zielgruppe des Projektes sind Menschen mit Beeinträchtigungen, die direkt und indirekt unterstützt werden sollen. In einem integrativen Gesamtkonzept fokussiert Emscher-Lippe hoch 4 vier Schwerpunkte:

  • Digitalkompetenz vermitteln
  • Unternehmen für digitale Innovationen aufschließen
  • Erproben digitaler Fabrikationsmethoden
  • Anschieben digitaler Innovationsprozesse

matrix arbeitete innerhalb des Projekts an der Umsetzung von Innovationsmethoden, die KMU mit anwendungsnahen Praktiken verbinden, und führte Schulungen für KMU zu Themen wie Geschäftsmodellentwicklung, digitale Prototypenerstellung und Empathie & partizipatives Design durch.

Logo Ministerium für Wirtschaft NRW